This course information may be updated and amended immediately prior to semester. To ensure you have the correct outline, please check it again at the beginning of semester.

Y40 Bachelor of Arts

The Bachelor of Arts course at ECU South West enables you to pursue your passion and career goals simultaneously.  The course provides a foundation in communication, cultural literacy and research skills and gives you a unique opportunity to study across disciplines.


Standard university admission requirements apply.

This course is available on Bunbury Campus.
This course is available by Full-time, or Part-time mode.
This course is available in the following mode of delivery - On-campus.

Some units will be available online.

The Bachelor of Arts degree is a 360 credit point (24 units) award, structured as follows:

  1. A core unit set of 90 credit points (6 units) comprising:
    • two first year units;
    • two second year units; and
    • two capstone units in the final year to prepare students for pathways into work, creative practice or further research.


    • two first year foundation units of (30 credit points) to prepare students for their major study. These are specified for each major.


2. A Major programme of 120 credit points (8 units) at second and third year level.


3. A supplementary programme of 120 credit points (8 units) comprising:

    • An elective programme of 120 credit points (8 units);
    • OR
    • A Minor study of 60 credit points (4 units) plus electives of 60 credit points (4 units) or a second minor of 60 credit points (4 units).
    • OR
    • A second Major from Bachelor of Arts or from elsewhere within or outside the School. This may be from Bachelor of Science at South West campus.


Note: students undertaking two Majors must make a careful plan for study with the Course Coordinator at the commencement of their course.


Whatever plan students choose, normally no more than ten of the units studied should be at first year level.


CCI1103 Region and Culture 15
RPS1100 Communication for the Professions 15
Students in their first year will also select at least two foundation units and up to four first year electives. This will vary for students undertaking two majors.
CCC2100 Pre-modernism 15
CCC2105 Modernism 15
RPS3110 Applied Research Methods 15
RPS3111 Research Project 15
Students should select at least two of the following units in first year.
CCC1101 Texts and Meanings 15
CCI1102 Visual and Graphic Fundamentals 15
CMM1101 Reading Media Texts 15
SST1210 Event Management 15
SWK1102 Philosophy, Knowledge and Ethics 15
VIS1303 Introduction to Drawing 15
VIS1305 Materials and Methods: Approaches to Studio 15
WRT1103 Creativity and Writing 15
Students may choose ELECTIVE UNITS from the foundation list above and from other majors in the Arts program. They may also select units from any programs in the Faculty or the University subject to prerequisite requirements being met.
A typical first year enrolment will include two core units and between two and six of these foundation units.
MABUTFLiterature and Writing Major
MABUTGMedia Major
MABUTHVisual Art Major
MIAAGCEnglish Minor
MIAAGFGraphic Design Minor
MIAAGEJournalism Minor
MIAAGGVisual Art Minor
MIAAGDWriting Minor
Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005)
For the purposes of considering a request for Reasonable Adjustments under the Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005), inherent requirements for this subject are articulated in the Unit Description, Learning Outcomes, Graduate Attributes and Assessment Requirements of this entry. The University is dedicated to provide support to those with special requirements. Further details on the support for students with disabilities or medical conditions can be found at the Student Equity, Diversity and Disability Service website:

Last Updated - Higher Education: 15/03/2014 VET: 14/05/2014