This course information may be updated and amended immediately prior to semester. To ensure you have the correct outline, please check it again at the beginning of semester.

G39 Bachelor of Computer Technology


The Bachelor of Computer Technology is a uniquely flexible degree with an emphasis on providing practical and relevant skills and knowledge. The core of the degree includes studies in information systems development, computer systems and networking, internet databases and web programming. There are three areas of specialisation: Digital Media, Business Information Systems and Computer Science.

  • Digital Media students will study web layout and design, film and interactive multimedia;
  • Business Information Systems students will study business, e-commerce and enterprise resource planning;
  • Computer Science students will study PC architecture, systems and web programming and distributed systems.

There are no special TEE requirements.

International students require an IELTS score of 6.0 or a TOEFL score of 550 or similar with approval.

This course is available on Bunbury Campus.
This course is available by Full-time, or Part-time mode.
This course is available in the following mode of delivery - On-campus.

Three years full time or equivalent part time to total at least 360 credit points (cp).

The course has 12 core units (180 cp) plus:

·     an 8 unit major (120 cp) and

·     4 elective units (60 cp).


Computer Science

For students who require a broad understanding of information and computer technology. This major includes studies of software development, computer systems, web-based information systems and intelligent systems.


Business Information Systems

For students who require a fundamental understanding of businesses and intend to specialise in the development and application of business software.


Digital Media

For students who want to acquire skills and knowledge in the areas of digital and graphic media and also apply those skills to web development.  Multimedia content will include web layout and design, and also film.


Elective Studies:

Elective units are available to enable a student to pursue further study from other majors or in any related area of interest. Students should seek the advice of the Course Coordinator when choosing their elective units.

All majors have the same set of core units. Students are required to complete the following 12 units:
Year 1: Semester 1
CTC1120 Programming Principles 15
RPS1120 Information and Communications Technology for the Professions 15
Year 1: Semester 2
CTC1220 Programming Techniques 15
CTC1130 Analysing Systems 15
Year 2: Semester 1
CTC2250 Data Communications 15
CTC2230 Database Systems 15
Year 2: Semester 2
CTC2260 Computer and Information Security 15
CTC2330 User Centred System Development 15
Year 3: Semester 1
CTC3400 Project Management 15
CTC3310 Project Development 15
Year 3: Semester 2
CTC3320 Information Technology Project Processes 15
CTC3411 Project Implementation 15
MACTCSComputer Science Major
MACTDMDigital Media Major
MAAAEGBusiness Information Systems Major
Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005)
For the purposes of considering a request for Reasonable Adjustments under the Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005), inherent requirements for this subject are articulated in the Unit Description, Learning Outcomes, Graduate Attributes and Assessment Requirements of this entry. The University is dedicated to provide support to those with special requirements. Further details on the support for students with disabilities or medical conditions can be found at the Student Equity, Diversity and Disability Service website:

Last Updated - Higher Education: 31/03/2010 VET: 31/03/2010