This course information may be updated and amended immediately prior to semester. To ensure you have the correct outline, please check it again at the beginning of semester.

G04 Bachelor of Science (Aviation)


This is a three year full-time (or part-time equivalent) program leading to a Bachelor of Science degree.


The Bachelor of Science (Aviation) is designed to provide a broad professional education and graduate status for those entering the aviation industry. The course includes essential elements required for pilot training up to the level of Air Transport Pilot Licence. It extends beyond licensing requirements and traditional pilot training to prepare graduates for a range of careers within the aviation industry.


The Bachelor of Science (Aviation) has been developed in close consultation with the aviation industry. Core theoretical units in aviation are taught by the Faculty of Computing, Health and Science. Practical flying training is carried out in association with  ECU authorised flying schools.


On graduation, students who have completed the flight training units will typically hold a Commercial Pilot Licence together with either a Command Instrument Rating in a twin-engine or turbine-powered aircraft, or a Flight Instructor Rating.


Students who do not complete the flight training units may instead combine elective and minor subjects to form a strong, coherent knowledge base in the field of their choice.  Where available, such a combination may be at the level of a supporting major.  This mode of completion is therefore particularly suited to those desiring to work in the aviation industry in other than a flying role.


The Bachelor of Science (Aviation) is offered through the School of Engineering and Mathematics on Joondalup campus. Flight training units are undertaken at Jandakot Airport or other appropriate locations. The course is offered in the full-time and part-time modes but part-time students will be required to attend day classes. In addition, selected units are available for external study.


In addition to satisfying standard ECU admission requirements,satisfactory performance in a TEE mathematics unit or equivalent is required. Studies in Physics and Aviation are desirable but not essential.

Entry to the Bachelor of Science (Aviation) degree programme is available to applicants who hold ICAO Commercial or Air Transport Pilot Licences or who are pilots in the military. Such applicants may also expect to receive credits for a number or units in the B Sc (Aviation) degree.



Fees apply to all units in this degree except for the three flight training units.  However, any costs of flying training must be borne by the student.  Although these costs cannot be precisely determined, it should be anticipated that they would be in the order of $45,000 if three Flight Training units were completed.

The cost of flying lessons in SCA1111 and SCA2211 are paid on completion of each lesson.  For SCA3211 or SCA3311 the cost for the complete unit is paid as a lump sum before training in the particular unit commences.

This course is available on Joondalup Campus.
This course is available by Full-time, or Part-time mode.
This course is available in the following mode of delivery - On-campus.

The Bachelor of Science (Aviation) consists of 360 credit points (24 units) and is divided into the following three areas taken over three years of full-time study:


Fourteen unit Aviation Major

Six unit Minor in any available area

Four Elective units

Semester 1
SCA1125 Fundamentals of Flight 15
SCA1126 Light Aircraft Engines, Systems and Flight Rules 15
Minor Unit 1
Physics Unit (see section below)
Semester 2
SCA1208 Aviation Meteorology and Human Factors 15
SCA1227 Light Aircraft Performance 15
MAT1194 Problem Solving and Modelling for Aviation 15
Minor Unit 2
Semester 1
SCA2223 Advanced Aerodynamics and Jet Engines 15
SCY2106 Aviation Security 15
Minor Unit 3
Elective Unit 1 (see section below)
Semester 2
SCA2422 Instrument Flight 15
SCA2224 Aircraft Systems 15
Minor Unit 4
Elective Unit 2 (see section below)
Semester 1
SCA3321 Professional Aeronautical Attitudes and Techniques 15
SCA3412 Heavy Aircraft Performance 15
Minor Unit 5
Elective Unit 3 (see section below)
Semester 2
SCA3200 Crew Resource Management 15
SCA3612 Advanced Flight Planning 15
Minor Unit 6
Elective Unit 4 (see section below)
The Physics unit is SCP1111 Physics of Motion for those who have completed TER Physics or equivalent or SCP1132 Introduction to Physics for those who have not.

A Minor comprises six units in a field of study other than Aviation. It is designed to broaden the graduate's knowledge and to enhance their employability.

The Minor can be chosen from any available discipline throughout the University according to a student's own needs and interests. Those that have been most commonly selected are:
Business Studies (e.g. Accounting, Finance, Management, Human Resource Management, Marketing, Professional Computing, Tourism Management, Information Systems Management, Hospitality Management)
Computer Science
Physical Science

Students may combine their minor field and elective studies. See Elective Studies below for further details.
Students are required to select four Elective units. At least two elective units must be at second year level or higher.

Students wishing to enter the aviation industry as pilots should select the three flight training units as described below. The fourth unit may be chosen from any available within the University.

Students wishing to enter the aviation industry other than as pilots are free to choose elective units from any available units within the University. It is strongly recommended that students choosing this option combine their elective units with their minor field of study to create a strong and coherent set of units, involving an eight or ten unit supporting major if it is available in the field.

Flying training may be completed in the following manner:

SCA1111 Flying Training 1 15
SCA2211 Flying Training 2 15
SCA3211 Instrument Flying Training 15
SCA3311 Flight Instructor Rating 15

Prior to enrolling in the Bachelor of Science (Aviation) degree program, applicants wishing to complete flying units are strongly advised to undergo an aviation medical examination by a doctor authorised to conduct such examinations by the Civil Aviation Safety Authority.
The university strongly recommends that, if possible, at least five flying lessons are undertaken by students before lectures commence. The university can facilitate this at reduced cost. Details should be obtained from the Course Coordinator.
Flying Training 1 will ideally be completed by the end of the first academic year, Flying Training 2 by the end of the second academic year, etc. However, in reality students continue flight training in the periods between academic years.
Students may choose to terminate their flying training after any of the above units. However it should be noted that all three units constitute the minimum flying qualifications normally required for employment in the industry as a pilot.
Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005)
For the purposes of considering a request for Reasonable Adjustments under the Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005), inherent requirements for this subject are articulated in the Unit Description, Learning Outcomes, Graduate Attributes and Assessment Requirements of this entry. The University is dedicated to provide support to those with special requirements. Further details on the support for students with disabilities or medical conditions can be found at the Student Equity, Diversity and Disability Service website:

Last Updated - Higher Education: 30/04/2009 VET: 30/04/2009