This course information may be updated and amended immediately prior to semester. To ensure you have the correct outline, please check it again at the beginning of semester.

M30 Bachelor of Midwifery/Bachelor of Nursing

The four-year Bachelor of Midwifery and Bachelor of Nursing double degree at Edith Cowan University combines a new undergraduate midwifery program (subject to accreditation by the Nurses Board of Western Australia) with an existing nursing program.  This innovative and challenging initiative leads to a double degree which will be recognised in the global market place.  The double degree provides students with lifelong transferable skills equipping them for employment as midwives and/or nurses in a variety of health care settings in including rural Australia. 



The course is available full-time or part-time.  Both the BMid and the BN will be taught at the Churchlands campus until 2007 when it will be taught on the Joondalup campus.  Some of the BN units will be available by external study (print-based and on-line delivered by Blackboard).  The BMid will only be available via internal, on campus modes of study.  However, some students may complete part of their clinical component of the course outside the metropolitan area. 



There are a number of possible entry options.  Reference should be made to the ECU (Academic Enrolment and Academic Progress Rules) and the Tertiary Institutions Service Centre (TISC) Guide.  The university may control and limit the admission and enrolment of students. 



A Bachelor of Midwifery and Bachelor of Nursing can only be awarded if there are sufficient credit points in the relevant program are completed and subject to meeting the course structure of that award as well as the requirements of the Nurses Board of Western Australia.  The midwifery and nursing studies are integrated in such a way that students who decide not to pursue the midwifery pathway during the four-year program will need to withdraw from it and re-enrol in the Bachelor of Nursing.



The BM and the BN are academic qualifications which (subject to Nurses Board of Western Australia’s requirements for registration as a midwife and nurse in Division one of the register) qualify graduates to work as a midwife and/or a nurse. 



The program will consist of 12 core midwifery units and 24 core nursing units. 

Semester 1
NNT1103 Cultural Perspective within Nursing and Health 15
NSP1103 Communication in Nursing 15
NST1103 Psychosocial Nursing: A Life Span Approach 15
SCN1103 Anatomy and Physiology with Applied Biophysics/Biochemistry 1 15
Semester 2
NNT1204 Theories and Principles Relating to Nursing Care 15
MIP1201 Health Assessment for Midwifery and Nursing Practice 15
MID1101 Indigenous Health, Cultural Competence and Midwifery 15
SCN1104 Anatomy and Physiology with Applied Biophysics/Biochemistry 2 15
Semester 1
NNT2205 Principles of the Individual's Adaptation to Altered Health Status 1 15
NSP2207 Developing Competencies in Holistic Nursing Care 15
NST2105 Dimensions of Mental Health 15
NNS2205 Applied Pathophysiology and Pharmacology 1 15
Semester 2
NNT2206 Principles of the Individual's Adaptation to Altered Health Status 2 15
NSP2206 Advancing Competencies in Holistic Nursing Care 15
NMI2201 Ethics and Law in Midwifery and Nursing 15
NNS2106 Applied Pathophysiology and Pharmacology 2 15
Semester 1
MPT3201 Effective Midwifery Care of the Well Family 15
MIP3202 Midwifery Care in Acute and Community Settings 15
NST3208 Research for Health Practice 15
NMS3201 Applied Pathophysiology and Pharmacology 3 15
Semester 2
MMT3301 Complex Care of the Newborn 15
NNI3204 Professional Issues in Nursing 15
NST3207 Psychosocial Issues 15
MIP3301 Challenges in Practice 15
Semester 1
MPT4202 Skills for Midwifery in Acute Care Settings 15
MIP4201 Advanced Communication in Midwifery 15
NSP3202 Proficient Holistic Nursing Care (Specialty) 15
NNT3201 Principles of the Individual's Adaptation to Altered Health Status 3 15
Semester 2
NNT3202 Theory Relating to Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Care 15
NSP3201 Practice Across Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Care 15
MPT4401 Complex Midwifery Care 15
MIP4202 Continuity of Midwifery Care 15
Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005)
For the purposes of considering a request for Reasonable Adjustments under the Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005), inherent requirements for this subject are articulated in the Unit Description, Learning Outcomes, Graduate Attributes and Assessment Requirements of this entry. The University is dedicated to provide support to those with special requirements. Further details on the support for students with disabilities or medical conditions can be found at the Student Equity, Diversity and Disability Service website:

Last Updated - Higher Education: 18/11/2004