This course information may be updated and amended immediately prior to semester. To ensure you have the correct outline, please check it again at the beginning of semester.

B38 Bachelor of Science (Computer Science)

Bachelor of  Science


The Faculty of Computing, Health and Science offers a general Bachelor of Science with a wide range of discipline concentrations and a number of more specialised Bachelor of Science courses providing specifically identified major studies.


Requirements for each of the specific awards offered in the School of Computer and Information Science are detailed below.


The more flexible award is described earlier in the Handbook.



This is a three year full-time (or part-time equivalent) program leading to a Bachelor of Science degree.

The Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) reflects an integrated approach to computer-based information systems, combining the more traditional aspects of computer science with modern information technology and methodology. Graduates will possess the necessary expertise to take up positions in government, industry or business requiring a knowledge of computer science and its application to information processing.

A core program provides a comprehensive study spanning three streams: computer systems, programming, and machine operations. A choice of a Minor study or Elective units is available to enable students to pursue further study in these areas. Students should seek the advice of the course coordinator when choosing their Minor study or Elective units.


The Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) course has received professional accreditation with the Australian Computer Society. Graduates will automatically be able to seek membership of the Australian Computer Society as professional members.



In addition to standard admission requirements, applicants require a TEE Mathematics subject, or equivalent.



The course is available by full-time or part-time study on Joondalup and Mount Lawley campuses and at the South West campus (Bunbury).



This is a specialist study course comprising eighteen core units and either a six unit minor study or six elective units. Full-time students would normally complete the program in three years as outlined in the scheme below.

Semester 1
CSG1132 Communicating in an IT Environment 15
CSI1241 Systems Analysis 15
CSP1150 Programming Principles 15
ENS1161 Computer Fundamentals 15

Semester 2
CSG2130 Applied Communications 15
CSG2343 Operating Systems 15
CSI2341 Systems and Database Design 15
CSP1250 Data Structures with Java 15
Semester 1
CSG2245 Computer Science Methods 15
CSP2347 UNIX and C 15
Minor or Elective Unit 1
Minor or Elective Unit 2

Semester 2
CSG2341 Intelligent Systems 15
CSG3332 Project Management, Professionalism and Ethics 15
CSP2343 Object-oriented Programming with C++ 15
Minor or Elective Unit 3
Semester 1
CSG3421 Project Planning and Proposal 15
CSG3446 Project Processes, Analysis and Design 15
ENS3343 Data Communication and Computer Networks 15
Minor or Elective Unit 4
Semester 2
CSG3222 Project Implementation 15
CSP3341 Programming Languages and Paradigms 15
Minor or Elective Unit 5
Minor or Elective Unit 6
Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005)
For the purposes of considering a request for Reasonable Adjustments under the Disability Standards for Education (Commonwealth 2005), inherent requirements for this subject are articulated in the Unit Description, Learning Outcomes, Graduate Attributes and Assessment Requirements of this entry. The University is dedicated to provide support to those with special requirements. Further details on the support for students with disabilities or medical conditions can be found at the Student Equity, Diversity and Disability Service website:

Last Updated - Higher Education: 18/11/2004